Guide to install Snow Leopard on HP mini with N450 from Win 7

This guide is different from others in 1 aspect, u don’t have to delete the recovery partition to install OS X on ur mini. This gives the freedom to come back to Win in case u want to, but not for sure….

There are easier methods which may work with other minis. But I got through this method after working around for more than a month. To start with keep the following things handy and you should have win 7 installed in ur mini

1. 8Gb USB drive

2. Smaller USB drive (anythin >50mb would work)

3. A copy of iAtkos S3 V2 (U can torrent it)

4.  NBI 083 FF DD image

5. Image Writer for Windows

6. DD Mac

On your Windows

Take the smaller USB drive and plug it to your mini. Open Image Writer for windows, Select “NBI 083” as image file and USB drive as device. Press Write button and wait till it finishes. Now your USB drive is bootable, keep it aside.

Next step is transferring iAtkos image to usb using ddmac. This is the most tricky part since ddmac is not in Englsih. To do this, open ddmac in compatibility mode for XP (otherwise also it will work, but progress bar won’t refresh properly)  and select as follows.

1. Select iAtkosS3V2.iso file

2. De-select the box that says “tboot.ini boot.ini” with a bunch of other question marks.
3. De-select the box that is beside the drop down area where you select your drive.
4. Select your 8 GB USB drive from the drop down list.
5. Reselect the box beside the drop down menu again.
6. Press the button right beside this box and it will start.

DON’T TOUCH your mini until ddmac completes its task. This is very important to make the transfer successful. That’s it, time to say goodbye to Windows.

On your mini

Reboot your mini after plugging both USBs. Press f9 during boot to select “boot from USB”. Now you can see (hopefully) 3 drives to boot from. Select iAtkos icon using right arrow and press Enter. Now your mini should boot from iAtkos USB and will take you to OS X installer.

Select Language and press Next.

Go to the top of the screen “Utilities”, from this menu select “Disk Utility”

Click on your Mini’s hard drive, windows partition in the left pane.

Click on the “Erase” tab.

Under Volume Format, select Mac OS Extended (Journaled)

Click “Erase”.

After Disk Utility has finished erasing your drive, exit the Disk Utility.

Now click “Next” and select your newly erased hard drive as the destination.

On the next screen, you will see an option at the bottom that reads “Customize”. Click on it.

Be careful in selecting options, I’m not describing the options I have selected here since it might not work for you. But be sure to select bootloader as Chameleon RC2, kernel as Intel atom and must have patches.

You can continue with installation now, Wait for roughly 20 minutes, your system will reboot automatically once installation is complete.

Remove both USBs on reboot and wait till Chameleon screen appears. Select your OS X drive and type “-v cpus=1” without quote. This should take you to welcome screen and registration.

Unfortunately new HP minis are coming with Insyde BIOS and can’t use both CPU cores natively. To get rid of this problem we have to use Legacy Kernel which I will be explaining in my next blog.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Guide to install Snow Leopard on HP mini with N450 from Win 7

  1. Sake says:

    When using DD Mac, after the dump is over, it says all done and have fun. But when I remove it and reinsert the USB, it asks me to format it?? I dont know what went wrong? Can you help me please

  2. Sake says:

    Ok I somehow managed to get the get the iso dump in the usb. But when I boot with usb drives, it gets stuck at Loading Darwin/x86… And I haven’t been able to get past this…

    • msarun says:

      Same thing happened to me also 2-3 times. This happens when ddmac fails to make bootable usb. Try again with ddmac, its a fragile software. Pls post your comments after trial. btw what natbook/laptop are you using ?

      • Sake says:

        Hi Msarun, I’m having a Dell XPS M1530. The latest update as of now, is that now the chameleon bootloader is showing up but my usb drive with the iAtkos is not coming up in it. I’ll give it a few more tries. But a great thanks to you i’m atleast making some progress. Will keep you updated…

  3. Sake says:

    The thing is DDMac is dumping in USB, but It doesn’t seem to be bootable. In the bootloader I can’t see the usb. Does it have to be a specific brand of usb?

    • msarun says:

      I used SanDisk Cruzer Blade, brand does’nt matter but dont keep any windows software in it. Why do you want to use USB method while you are having an in-built cd/dvd drive in your XPS M 1530 ? Burn iAtkos to a dvd and boot it just like that. All these efforts can be bypassed with this simple route. USB method is meant for people having netbook (no optical drive). Even of you have a netbook, it is much easier to install os x using external usb optical drive than usb .

  4. Sake says:

    Yea I know its easier to get it done via the dvd, but you see my XPS is 3 years old, meaning my dvd drive is dead. In addition to that, it does not, for the love of life, want to detect my external dvd writer!! I tried almost every trick in the bag to get it to run, but no go. Thats why I’m resorting to the usb method. And there also I tried around 10-15 times to get it to load in the chameleon bootloader, but it does not show up. I did exactly as you have mentioned in this blog, but it just does not come in the bootloader. All I get is an icon that looks like a HD and 3 icons of windows in the bootloader. I dont see any icon mentioning iAtkos S3 Version 2. Thats why I asked if DDMac loves any particular brand of usbs. Coz my Kingston does not cut it. Even though the dump by ddmac is successful. Any pointers in getting it to run? I’m almost frustrated, not by the technicality of it, but by my sheer bad luck of not getting the DVD route to work even though my laptop should accept any external device… It is old but not THAT old… I even updated the BIOS. But no luck…

    • msarun says:

      Don’t worry, we will sort it out. whats happening when you press for the icon that looks like HDD ? Meanwhile i will find another alternative for you. btw i switched over to genuine mac from March 2011. But I will definitely help u out. I was in the same condition some 10 months back.

      Alternative Method: This one did not work for me, but worked for a guy with Kingston USB. Forget about small usb in this method. Things needed

      1. Your Kingston USB (>4GB)
      2. A program called unetbootin http://unetbootin.sourceforge.net/
      3. Your iAtkos iso image

      Go to command prompt in your windows. type ‘diskpart’ and hit enter
      Type ‘List Disk’ to find out which drive letter your USB is on
      ‘select disk 1’ (or a different number if your USB is assigned a different number)
      ‘clean’
      ‘create partition primary’
      ‘select partition 1’
      ‘active’
      ‘format fs=fat32’
      ‘set id=af’
      ‘exit’

      NOW launch unetbootin, select distribution FreeDOS version 1.0 and pick your drive letter on the bottom. Hit OK.

      Go to Start>>Computer and open the usb drive that you’ve just formatted. Delete the contents of the drive
      (We have done all these things just to use the boot loader of DOS. In the previous method we used the boot loader from smaller usb)

      Launch DDMAC.exe
      Select the ISO at the top
      Uncheck the box next to the drive letter (where it says ??)
      Select the drive letter for your USB
      Recheck the box next to the drive letter
      Now the start button (??!) should be active
      Hit start

      Now restart the system and select ‘boot from usb’ it should directly load OS X installer.

      Try this and let’s see what happens.

  5. Sake says:

    To be frank, I had tried this method before but it gets stuck at “Loading Darwin/x86” every time. But I do like to know one thing.. After doing the unetbootin process, when you say to delete the files, I deleted EVERY single file, including the one that says idlinux.sys which is a protected system file. If I try to keep the file, DDMac says the “Drive is not empty”. So I have to delete the said file. Now do you think that this file is in anyway related to the bootloader? I know it has ‘linux’ in its file-name, but could this somehow be causing my USB drive not to boot up? As always, thanks for your time and effort.. 🙂

  6. Sake says:

    Still no luck in getting it around… tried everything as of now.. there is just isn’t any way I can get it to install SL on my laptop. The only solution is through the internal dvd drive. which i can’t get it to be replaced.. so i’m completely screwed.. If you have any more suggestions on how to get SL installed.. then please help me so….

    • msarun says:

      There is another way. You might be knowing about it. But you have to download snowleopard retail version image. Then use Meklort’s netbook installer to boot it. But the drawback is that u have to format the entire hard drive in this method. You can try it if you are ok with this. http://osx.mechdrew.com/guides/nbi2.shtml

      in fact this guide was reference for my experiments with snowleopard.

      btw, have u enabled SATA in your bios ? if the answer is yes, try disabling that.

  7. Sake says:

    What you have posted is new to me. I will try this one out. And yes I’m totally ok with formatting the hard disk. As for the SATA thing, I’m not really sure but I’ll check it out.. And again thanks for your time, I will try these and get back to you

  8. Pingback: HP Mini 110-3735DX - Working! (sort of)

  9. vinay says:

    hi……
    i have a notebook of hp mini 110 3730tu . I have follow all the process u have mentioned before.
    but after installation the registration process is not coming. i tried “-v cpus=1” but it is not working.
    u told above that new hp mini notebooks have some problem of Insyde BIOS. can u tell me the solution of my problem.
    thank u.

  10. john says:

    Can we use an internal DVD drive and insert a DVD(which has iATKOS S3 burnt) and start installing?

  11. john says:

    My configuration is : HP-MINI 110-1104 VU, 1GB RAM , Intel Atom N450, 160 GB HDD. Is there any idea that iAtkos S3 will work on this tiny machine?

    • msarun says:

      It will work. But there are few things I would like to inform you. The GPU is not supported. You must be having intel 3150 integrated GPU. And this is not supported by OS X yet. Still you can install Snowleopard but you won’t have hardware accelerated graphics. Agian, this means you can’t play full screen videos as CPU has to work for graphics too. Let me know which is your wireless adapter…

      • john says:

        Sorry Arun. My processor is Intel Atom N280. I just now saw it clearly. My Ethernet card is Atheros and wireless is Broadcom. It runs Intel GMA 950 Graphics.

      • msarun says:

        thats a good news. gma 950 is the only gpu supported by os x. You can have a full fledged hackintosh. let me know the dev id of broadcom chip. this can be found on windows -> control panel -> system -> hardware manager

      • john says:

        Broadcom dev id is 802.11g. Thanks.

  12. john says:

    This official hp link describes the specifications in a more detailed manner:

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c01938624&tmp_task=prodinfoCategory&lc=en&dlc=en&cc=us&lang=en&product=4059747

    Please take a look. Thanks

  13. Sudharshan says:

    I get an error saying BOOTMGR missing and asking me to restart, which again is of no use. Pleas e help.

  14. john says:

    Hi arun. After successfully installing iatkos, my system just stands still at the Grey screen with Apple Logo. I can’t see any rotating cirlces. PLZ HELP!!!

  15. john says:

    Hi arun. Installed iatkos successfully. Everything works perfectly,(Audio,Bluetooth,Wi-fi)…But can’t view any pdf file or image files in Preview. Plz help. Thanks.

  16. John says:

    Intel GMA 950:

    Chipset Model: GMA 950
    Type: GPU
    Bus: Built-In
    VRAM (Total): 64 MB of Shared System Memory
    Vendor: Intel (0x8086)
    Device ID: 0x27ae
    Revision ID: 0x0003
    ROM Revision: OpenGL Engine activated via EFI String
    Displays:
    HSD101PFW2:
    Resolution: 1024 x 600
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Built-In: Yes
    Display Connector:
    Status: No Display Connected

    This is shown when i see…

    • msarun says:

      It looks like graphic Card is recognized. But we need to check QE/CI is enabled or not.

      Open ‘Fron Row’ and see what happens. It is there in Applications (red chair). if it works, then Quartz Extreme/Core Image is enabled.

      Another method to check is open Dashboard and add a new widget. If it comes with ripples, then QE/CI is enabled. If not then you have to change the kext you are using.

  17. John says:

    Also help me with the fonts. I have a poor font rendering in my Snow Leopard. Save my eyes !

  18. webrom37 says:

    Hi,
    I apologize for my English, I’m french and I have to improve my english 🙂 .
    I tried to install Hackintosh on my HP mini 110c-1030ef but I had a big problem. The screen resolution is not tall enough. I can’t click on “Next”. Do you have an idea to fix this problem ?
    I took a photo to illustrate my problem : http://imageshack.us…1224141448.jpg/
    Thanks for your help !
    Romain

  19. Darren says:

    I have a HP Mini 210 from Jan 2010 with Intel Atom N450, GMA3150 and 1GB RAM. It’s almost 2 years old now. I’ve been trying to install Mac OSX on my mini but I’ve never succeeded. But now I’ve succeeded to install Snow Leopard 10.6.3 on it!! I can dual boot XP and Snow Leopard!! Awesome! Thanks to your guide! I follow your original guide at the very top and it worked smoothly. The downside are the wifi is not supported, clickpad is not fully supported (cursor is jumpy) and no graphics hardware acceleration. But other than those, it worked well! Now I just plug in an USB wifi adapter and I can go online. Thank you! But I wonder why clicking on the clickpad is supported during the installation but after the installation, only tapping is supported?

    • Darren says:

      oh..i forgot something, video playback is choppy…basically, i can’t play anything higher than QVGA resolution smoothly. VLC video player is great but it only shows black blank during video playbacks. I tried all the video output settings and it still doesn’t work. Pictures does not display in Preview too, I have to use Xee Image Viewer as the replacement picture viewer. Are there solutions to these problems?

      • msarun says:

        All of the problems are due to a single reason. GMA 3150 is not supported by OS X. That means there is no hardware acceleration in the netbook. OS X depends heavily on hardware acceleration. Following are the mainly affected areas/apps.
        1. Photobooth won’t function
        2. VLC can’t work
        3. Youtube consumes 100% CPU even in non-fullscreen mode
        4. The menu bar on the top of the screen won’t be translucent.
        5. There won’t be any ripples on the screen when you launch a new widget
        6. Netbook runs in native resolution
        7. Non-smooth cursor movement

        The last 2 mentioned issues can be solved up to an extent by applying meklort’s patches. Also wireless can be made work. Let me know the dev id and ven id of the wireless chipset, I will try to help you.

  20. PIYUSH says:

    hey , i hv also booted 10.6.3 not by ddmac but by nawcom bootcd which hai inbuilt chameleon RC2 v5 bootloader

    Also i didnt need to type -v cpus=1 at boot screen…

    please tell me how to get its wifi wok

    m having hp mini 110-3700 series..with broadcom 4313 wireless card..

  21. linux says:

    Hey! I hope you do not mind but I decided to post your

Leave a Reply

